I've found my furever family!


We're happy to tell you that Shellyhas a new furever home.
Please visit our Available Dogs Page to see the pups currently available.
Good with: Dogs, Kids Not tested with: Cats House trained: Mostly with an occasional accident Energy level: Moderate Noise level: Quiet Hi, I'm Shelly! I'm a lovable pup who's had a bit of a bumpy road in life, but I'm ready to find my forever home. I'm an active girl, and I absolutely love being outside to explore. However, I can be a tad nervous around new or loud noises. Despite that, I'm incredibly affectionate with my people, and that includes kids – I just can't get enough of their company! You'll often find me spending all my free time right next to you, soaking up all the love. I do great with other dogs, and having a canine friend in my forever home would be amazing, though it's not a deal-breaker. I currently live with an older rescue dog and a 9-year old boy, and I am respectful and easy going with both of them. I'm making great strides in getting used to being outdoors, but it takes me a little time. My curiosity, though, helps me overcome my nerves, and I'm becoming more confident every day. I absolutely love toys, especially ones I can chew up. Give me an Amazon box to tear up, and I'm in doggy heaven! People and other dogs seem to be my favorite things in the world, and I'm particularly drawn to kids. I've got a zen quality to me, earning me the nickname "Butter Dog" for the way I can melt into furniture and make anyone sitting on it feel at ease. Although I love hanging with my people and other dogs, I'm fine alone and will dedicate the time for sleeping. I will go into my crate if requested and occasionally use it on my own. Now, about the training part – I do need a bit of it. It's clear I haven't had much experience living in a house. Initially, I thought every flat surface was fair game for walking, including end tables and coffee tables. I've been learning that not everything is meant for chewing, like cell phones, remotes, and books. Make sure you keep your counters clear! Leash manners and understanding my name are also things I need to work on, but trust me, I'll figure everything out quickly enough. I'm mostly housetrained, with just the occasional accident. With a bit of patience and guidance, I'll be a pro in no time. I can't wait to find a forever home where I can share all the love I've got to give! So, if you're ready for a curious, affectionate, and slightly goofy companion, I'm your girl. I can’t wait to find my forever home where I can share all the love I’ve got to give! My foster guardian says: “ Shelly has very zen quality to her. I called her the Butter Dog because of the way she had of melting into the furniture and anyone sitting on it. It's a very endearing quality. Her forever human(s) are very lucky people!” Likes: Toys, treats, people, other dogs, playing chase, lounging on the sofa, naps, walks, kids, anything I can chew, and most importantly, attention! Dislikes: Very loud noises and being ignored. Outside is currently intimidating, but I’m working on it! My ideal home: I’d make a great family pet, but I’d thrive in most situations. I'd probably do best in a home outside of the city. Adoption Application : http://bit.ly/adoptrdr Foster Application : https://rdr.formstack.com/forms/foster_app

  Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Please sign up for our newsletter for dog related tips and tricks and to get updates on our dogs & events!