I'm ready for my new family!

Rosie

I'm Available

Good with: Dogs

Not good with: Small animals; children

House trained: Yes

Noise level: Moderate

Hey I'm Rosie a Beldi (Moroccan country dog) and despite a rocky start to life I'm here to bring joy and love to my forever home! My journey began overcoming challenges – my mom and litter mates were poisoned and I survived being hit by a car. Thanks to a kind Moroccan foster I'm now thriving and ready for a fresh start in DC!

I'm a confident and happy pup who loves adventures meeting new people and playing with other pups. I'm always up for new experiences and am not phased by much. I'm a smart and eager learner having already mastered commands like sit, down, crate, paw/shake, heel, and of course my name! Treats are my weakness and I'm more than willing to learn new tricks or good training habits in exchange for some tasty treats.

While I'm still perfecting my leash skills I'm a fast learner. Squirrels and small critters catch my eye during walks but I'm diligently working on good leash skills like "heel." A home with cats or small animals might not be the best fit due to my natural inclination to chase.

I'm fully potty and crate trained I've embraced the luxury of house living. Dog toys are my go-to for chewing and after a good walk or run I love to relax at home. Being a Beldi/Saluki mix I'm not shy about vocalizing my thoughts similar to a husky. I'm learning that not every thought needs to be shared but I might give a few whines or barks to communicate with my family.

While I can be exuberant especially when meeting new people, I'm not compatible with small kids (under 10) due to my excitement and sometimes not realizing my size. However I'm a big fan of attention and affection rubbing up against legs for pets and occasionally going through the middle of your legs to be extra cute—some say I'm a bit cat-like!

I can be leash reactive especially towards small animals scooters & fast cars driving by. Though I get along with other dogs sometimes I will lunge/bark at similar sized dogs.

My foster family adores my sweet and goofy nature. I love going between their legs for attention sitting on their feet for pets and prancing around the yard with my favorite toy. I've easily settled into their home enjoying playtime with their dog and meeting all their friends. I can't wait to find a forever home where I can share all the love I've got to give!

My foster guardian says: "Rosie is the biggest sweetheart and loves all the attention! You can definitely count her in on cuddling on the couch snuggling while watching a movie. She does very well with a dog that is of similar size & energy to her! She can be a little vocal when she hears unfamiliar noises outside though it’s only to alert us. Rosie is crate trained & has no problem hanging out & snoozing while her foster parents are out for a few hours."

Likes: Playing with toys running around the yard or dog park playing with other dogs napping near my people treats!

Dislikes: Bikes/scooters and squirrels/small animals (might bark or try to chase)

My ideal home: An active household that enjoys going for long walks hikes and playing fetch; an owner that will be committed to maintaining the commands I already know; and/or a home with another similarly sized playful dog or an owner that is looking for a social dog that loves doggy playdates.

  • Hound - Saluki & Retriever - Labrador
  • Female
  • 2 Years OldMy DoB is 04/25/2022 (Estimated)
  • 41 - 50 Pounds
  • Brown
  • Active and Playful
  • I Like Kids Over 10
  • I Only Like Big Dogs
  • I Don't Like Cats
  • I Don't Like Small Animals
  • I'm Trained
  • $ 450.00
Apply To Adopt Rosie
DONATE NOW       Help us take care of Rosie

  Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Please sign up for our newsletter for dog related tips and tricks and to get updates on our dogs & events!

X