I'm ready for my new family!


I'm Available

Good with: Dogs in the home, 1-1 interactions with other dogs

Not good with: Small animals, including small dogs and cats; large groups of dogs (such as at a dog park or at doggy day care)

Not tested with: Kids

House trained: Yes

Energy level: Low/moderate 

Noise level: Some

Hi there, I’m Mary, and I'm here to tell you all about myself! First things first, I absolutely adore a cozy spot to lay my head. There's nothing quite like sinking into a soft bed after a long day of sniffing around outside and soaking up all the love and pets you have to offer. But let me tell you, there's one thing that sends me running – that noisy, dreaded vacuum cleaner. It's just not my cup of tea.

When it comes to my energy level, I'm definitely on the lower side. I enjoy short walks, playing with other pups, and being a bit of a couch potato. As for training, I'm what you might call a work in progress. While I've been a breeze to foster, adapting quickly to my new surroundings, I could use a bit of guidance in the training department. I'm pretty good with the basics like crate training and leash manners, but I don't know any commands yet! Although, I'll perk up at some sweet baby talk if you're trying to get my attention.

Now, let's talk about my positive traits. I'm crate trained, I do well in the car, and I love being a lap pet. I'm affectionate, even-tempered, and oh-so-gentle. I loooooooove a good chew toy, and although I won't chew on things I'm not supposed to, I really appreciate a nice bone - it gets my energy out and keeps me focused!

Due to my background as a stray before being rescued by Rural Dog I'm wary of other dogs and can be slow to warm up but have shared space with dogs of similar size with proper introduction. In particular, I'd do best with a larger male or alpha female dog in the home. I have high prey drive and would do best in a home without other small animals including toy breed dogs and cats. I love people and could likely make a great family dog with older children. I get along well with my other foster sibling but I don’t always do great at dog parks or in doggy daycare.

I do have a bit of FOMO (fear of missing out)! Ample time in my crate to decompress and consistent structure will be key to ensure that I do not develop any separation anxiety moving forward.

As for my ideal home, I'm pretty adaptable. I'd be just as happy in an apartment as I would be in a suburban yard. While I enjoy the company of other dogs, I'm not overly playful and I could thrive as an only pet. All in all, I'm just looking for a loving home where I can be my sweet self. If that sounds like your kind of home, I'd love to meet you!

My foster guardian says: “Mary is as sweet as they come! She adapted to our household quickly and loves being a quiet companion around the home.”

Likes: Soft beds, sniffing outside, getting pets and love

Dislikes: The dreaded vacuum

My ideal home: Mary could fit into a lot of homes. She is the perfect size for apartment living but wouldn't complain if she ended up with a yard in the burbs. Likes other dogs but not overly playful so doesn't need a companion in the home.

Foster Applicationhttps://rdr.formstack.com/forms/foster_app

  • Hound
  • Female
  • 4 Years OldMy DoB is 04/25/2020 (Estimated)
  • 51 - 60 Pounds
  • Happy
  • Not Tested With Kids
  • I Like Select Dogs
  • I Don't Like Cats
  • I Don't Like Small Animals
  • I Have Not Been Tested with Farm Animals
  • I'm Not Trained Yet
  • $ 450.00
Apply To Adopt Mary
DONATE NOW       Help us take care of Mary

  Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Please sign up for our newsletter for dog related tips and tricks and to get updates on our dogs & events!